Puget Sound MINI Motoring Club Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Autocross and Racing > Performance Driving/Track Days
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Track day preparations (What's needed)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MINI Motorer
MINI Motorer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Willcoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Track day preparations (What's needed)
    Posted: April/20/12 at 3:32pm
I will be attending a driving class at the Ridge this Sunday and just wanted to see what the recommendations were for tracking our Minis. I have new tires and brake pads and will be checking all of my fluids before I get on the track.

What is the recommendation for oil level? I have heard at the full mark on the dipstick and 1/2 quart over full. I will be on all season tires so pulling a lot of G's won't be an issue and since it is my first time on a track I won't be pushing my car to the limit.
2006 JCW Checkmate-Wilwood big brake kit-Chrono package-H&R sport springs-H sport adjustable camber links
Wildfamily View Drop Down
PSMINI Expert Advisor
PSMINI Expert Advisor
PSMINI Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wildfamily Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April/20/12 at 3:54pm
Yes, good idea to overfill the oil a bit.

Also
Drink lots of water.
If you have some driving gloves bring em' along.
Take out your floormat on the driver's side.
Check all of your fluids.
Flush out your brake fluid and replace with some Motul or Superblue high temp fluid.
Torque all of you lug nuts and check them every session. They can loosen up.
Keep your eyes up and look ahead...the car will follow your eyes.
Relax..don't tense up. Use the straights to relax your grip and loosen up.
Your tires will gain 6-8lbs of pressure after a few hot laps so check them when you come in and adjust accordingly.
Slow in = Fast out.
Have fun and enjoy!

'15 F55 Cooper Volcanic Orange